Message sent from:

National Curriculum

At St Bridget's Catholic Primary School we aim to provide a safe and secure Catholic environment where all children are respected and nutured within an ethos based on Gospel values.

The requirements of government documents including: The National Curriculum; Primary Framework; Excellence and Enjoyment and Every Child Matters are embedded in a rich, stimulating curriculum, which recognises the unique contribution that each child makes towards the life of the school.

High standards of teaching and learning ensure that the potential of every child is nurtured and developed through the provision of broad, balanced experiences where individual needs are identified and addressed and where individual and whole school achievements are recognised and celebrated.

 The core subjects of the National Curriculum are being followed by every child from Year 1. Continuous assessment is integrated into everyday work.The Foundation Stage Profile takes place at the end of the Reception year. National tests (SATs) are carried out for Year 2 children at the end of Key Stage 1 and for Year 6 children at the end of Key Stage 2.

In 2014 the National Curriculum has changed for all maintained schools. The main points and changes are noted below.

  • The main aim is to raise standards
  • It has been designed to produce productive, creative and well educated students
  • The new curriculum is intended to be more challenging
  • The content is slimmer than the current curriculum
  • It focuses on essential core subject knowledge and skills such as essay writing and computer      programming
  • Schools are free to choose how they organise their school day, as long as the content of the National Curriculum programmes of study is taught to all pupils.
  • By the end of each key stage, pupils are expected to know, apply and understand the matters, skills and processes specified in the relevant programmes of study.
  • The new National Curriculum identifies what to teach but not how to teach.
  • The new National Curriculum does not have levels of attainment, but expectations at each banding.
  • “Literacy” title has been replaced by ‘English’.
  • ‘ICT’ title is replaced by ‘Computing’
  • No PSHE or RE contained within the Curriculum 2014 (but still to be taught).
  • An Act of Daily Worship is expected in all schools.
  • In Maths there will be a greater emphasis on arithmetic, and the promotion of efficient written methods of long multiplication and division.  There will also be a more demanding content in fractions, decimals and percentages.
  • In Science there is a stronger focus on the importance of scientific knowledge and language and a greater emphasis on the core scientific concepts underpinning pupils’ understanding.  For the first time primary aged children will learn about evolution and inheritance.
  • The English programmes of study will embody higher standards of literacy.  Pupils will be expected to develop a stronger command of the written and spoken word.  Through the teaching of phonics pupils will be helped to read fluently.
  • The study of languages is compulsory in Key Stage 2.
  • The pre 2014 ICT curriculum has been replaced with a new computing curriculum with a much greater emphasis on computational thinking and practical programming skills.
  • In other subjects and key stages there is a greater amount of time and flexibility for schools and teachers to design their curriculum and lessons by focusing only on the essential knowledge to be taught in each subject.
  • There are no specific times during each phase where topics have to be taught nor how long it should take. This is left to the discretion of individual schools and teachers as it is dependent on how quickly children grasp the specific area being taught.

It is essential to distinguish between the statutory National Curriculum and the whole school curriculum. At St Bridget's we are following the Learning Challenge Curriculum to provide a broad, enriching and exciting curriculum for our children. 

You can find out more about individidual subjects by referring to the policy documents.

To find out more about the National Curriculum, please refer to the content contained within the following link.


Hit enter to search